English Dutch French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Enneagram Type 8 Center of Intelligence: Gut or Anger Triad

Gut/Body-Based Center

Type 8 Gut/Body-Based Center

Type 8 is located in the 891 triad which is often described as the gut or body-based center. The gut or body types may be described in terms of sensory-somatic (bodily felt sensation), sensory-motor (physical movement and activity), or instinctual (gut decision making).

Type 8 can be very direct in going after what they want. There's a big energy available that they often have to sit on so that others aren't overwhelmed by it. The desire is to freely express it and be true to it. They often jump into action by making decisions from the gut instead of taking time to carefully think it through. While this gets things moving and makes things happen it can sometimes cause problems or damage that may have to be repaired later.

Type 8 Anger

Types 8, 9, and 1 may also be referred to as anger types, with anger being an energy that pushes against obstacles getting in the way of what's wanted.

Anger for type 8 is an energy readily drawn upon when needed. It's used to push through obstacles and make things happen. Confrontation often comes easy. It clears the air and gets at the truth of things. When the type 8 or others are unfairly taken advantage of it can sometimes come back as a vengeance to get even or rebalance the scales of justice. 

Type 8 Behavioral Center

The core focus approach to the Enneagram types labels the 891 triad as the Behavioral Center and more clearly differentiates how types 8, 9, and 1 use that center.

  • Type 8: Behavioral Assertiveness - pushes through obstacles to get what's wanted.
  • Type 9: Behavioral Accommodation - yields to or joins in with the flow of movement.
  • Type 1: Behavioral Correctness - discerns right from wrong and acts accordingly.

You can take a test comparing the three gut types here.

Enneagram Guide

This page is part of the Enneagram Guide available on this website. For more information about any particular Enneagram type or the many concepts and origins/history of the Enneagram types visit the Enneagram Guide main page.