Guide to the Enneagram Personality Types: Variations within type

Enneagram with Arrows

Enneagram Personality Type Variations

There are a number of concepts that describe variations within type that explain why people of the same type can seem so different.

Click a topic below to learn more about that concept.

  • Enneagram Wings
    The wings produce two variations of type based on the influence of the types on either side (e.g., 9w1, 9w8).
  • Enneagram Instincts
    The instincts are generally considered to be three different survival strategies that we use to varying degrees (i.e., sp, sx, so).
    • Instinctual Subtypes
      The instinctual subtypes divide each of the nine personality types into three subtypes (e.g., sp 1, sx 1, so 1).
    • Instinctual Variant Stacking
      Instinctual variant stacking describes an individual's preferential order for the three Enneagram instincts (i.e., sp/sx, sx/sp, sp/so, so/sp, sx/so, or so/sx).
  • Enneagram Centers
    The Enneagram centers of intelligence can be used to identify three Enneagram types (your gut type, heart type, and head type).
  • Enneagram Stress and Growth
    The inner lines and arrows of the Enneagram symbol are used to represent movement between the types.
  • Enneagram Levels
    The Enneagram levels of development describe nine levels of fixation or psychological health within each type.

Click here to learn more about the nine Enneagram personality types, type variations, type origins, and how the types use the Enneagram symbol.

Click here for additional Enneagram tests on type, wing, instinct, and centers.

Privacy Policy