English Dutch French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Enneagram Type 7 Center of Intelligence: Head or Fear Triad

Head/Head-Based Center

Type 7 Head Center

Type 7 is located in the 567 triad which is often described as the head center. The head types are focused on reasoning, analyzing, and other typical thinking functions concerned with future possibilities.

Type 7 avoids pain and limitations while seeking what's interesting and exciting. It's hard to commit to just one thing. Options are kept open because there's always the possibility of an interesting opportunity suddenly presenting itself. When interest in what's going on begins to wane then attention can quickly turn to what's next. There can be a living in the future approach to life where the type 7 wants to always have something exciting to look forward to. 

Type 7 Fear

Types 5, 6, and 7 may also be referred to as fear types, where fear can be thought of as a negative anticipation of future possibilities.

Type 7 has a fear of pain, boredom, and limitation. The future is anticipated and choices are made that avoid the negative and pursue the positive. Often when a choice has the possibility of going down a path that leads to what's feared, they'll quickly choose another path or distraction that avoids it.

Type 7 Mental Center

The core focus approach labels the 567 triad as the Mental Center and more clearly differentiates how types 5, 6, and 7 use that center.

  • Type 5: Mental Objectivity - observes the world by pulling back from it and watching.
  • Type 6: Mental Questioning - probes to alleviate doubts and find what can be trusted.
  • Type 7: Mental Anticipation - avoids limitations while exploring interesting possibilities.

You can take a test comparing the three head types here.

Enneagram Guide

This page is part of the Enneagram Guide available on this website. For more information about any particular Enneagram type or the many concepts and origins/history of the Enneagram types visit the Enneagram Guide main page.