Click here for the updated and improved Enneagram Type Preference Test
Determines Basic Type, Candidate Types, Preferred Wings, Tri-Center (aka trifix, tritype)

Frequently Asked Questions: Enneagram Fixations

Enneagram Fixations

What is an Enneagram fixation?

  • Each Enneagram type is said to have a mental fixation that creates limitations in being. Work on the fixation involves loosening the grip of it so that an individual becomes more adaptable.

What are the Enneagram fixations?

  • The Enneagram fixations are: 1-Resentment, 2-Flattery, 3-Vanity, 4-Melancholy, 5-Stinginess, 6-Cowardice, 7-Planning, 8-Vengeance, and 9-Indolence.

What is the Enneagram 1 fixation?

  • The Enneagram type 1 fixation of Resentment comes from trying to live up to standards for what's acceptable and right while others aren't.

What is the Enneagram 2 fixation?

  • The Enneagram type 2 fixation of Flattery comes from praising and giving to others in order to connect to them and be liked or gain favor.

What is the Enneagram 3 fixation?

  • The Enneagram type 3 fixation of Vanity comes from gaining a sense of value through accomplishments and subsequent recognition.

What is the Enneagram 4 fixation?

  • The Enneagram type 4 fixation of Melancholy comes from a dissatisfaction with what is and a longing for what once was or could've been.

What is the Enneagram 5 fixation?

  • The Enneagram type 5 fixation of Stinginess comes from holding on to resources in a world that seems to take more than it gives back.

What is the Enneagram 6 fixation?

  • The Enneagram type 6 fixation of Cowardice comes from waiting for something or someone to alleviate doubt before taking action.

What is the Enneagram 7 fixation?

  • The Enneagram type 7 fixation of Planning is about looking forward to many exciting possibilities and a way to fit them all into one's life.

What is the Enneagram 8 fixation?

  • The Enneagram type 8 fixation of Vengeance comes from balancing the scales of justice when others attempt to take unfair advantage.

What is the Enneagram 9 fixation?

  • The Enneagram type 9 fixation of Indolence is about resisting demands and expectations that disrupt a feeling of harmony and continuity.

Privacy Policy