English Dutch French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Enneagram Type 5 Levels of Development: Psychological Health

Enneagram Levels

The Levels of Development create a vertical dimension within each Enneagram type. There are nine levels ranging from healthy (levels 1-3) to average (levels 4-6) to unhealthy (levels 7-9).

A person will operate within a range of levels (e.g., levels 2-4, levels 6-8, etc.). This range will vary throughout a lifetime. Two people of the same type will look different when they're operating from different levels.

Below are two words associated with each level for type 5 as described in the book "The Wisdom of the Enneagram" by Don Riso and Russ Hudson.

Healthy Levels

Level 1 - Participating, Visionary

Level 2 - Observant, Perceptive

Level 3 - Focused, Innovative

Average Levels

Level 4 - Conceptualizing, Preparing

Level 5 - Detached, Preoccupied

Level 6 - Extreme, Provocative

Unhealthy Levels

Level 7 - Nihilistic, Eccentric

Level 8 - Horrified, Delirious

Level 9 - Seeking Oblivion, Self-Annihilating

Click here for descriptions of all nine type 5 levels. If you're not taken to the correct part of the web page when it appears then scroll down to the middle of the web page and look for the section on Levels of Development.

Enneagram Guide

This page is part of the Enneagram Guide available on this website. For more information about any particular Enneagram type or the many concepts and origins/history of the Enneagram types visit the Enneagram Guide main page.