English Dutch French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Enneagram Type 4 Levels of Development: Psychological Health

Enneagram Levels

The Levels of Development create a vertical dimension within each Enneagram type. There are nine levels ranging from healthy (levels 1-3) to average (levels 4-6) to unhealthy (levels 7-9).

A person will operate within a range of levels (e.g., levels 2-4, levels 6-8, etc.). This range will vary throughout a lifetime. Two people of the same type will look different when they're operating from different levels.

Below are two words associated with each level for type 4 as described in the book "The Wisdom of the Enneagram" by Don Riso and Russ Hudson.

Healthy Levels

Level 1 - Life-Embracing, Life-Enhancing

Level 2 - Introspective, Sensitive

Level 3 - Self-Revealing, Creative

Average Levels

Level 4 - Romanticizing, Individualistic

Level 5 - Self-Absorbed, Temperamental

Level 6 - Self-Indulgent, Decadent

Unhealthy Levels

Level 7 - Hateful, Alienated

Level 8 - Self-Rejecting, Clinically Depressed

Level 9 - Despairing, Life-Denying

Click here for descriptions of all nine type 4 levels. If you're not taken to the correct part of the web page when it appears then scroll down to the middle of the web page and look for the section on Levels of Development.

Enneagram Guide

This page is part of the Enneagram Guide available on this website. For more information about any particular Enneagram type or the many concepts and origins/history of the Enneagram types visit the Enneagram Guide main page.