The Centers

English Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Danish Dutch Finnish French German Hebrew Italian Japanese Korean Norwegian Portuguese Russian Spanish Swedish


These pages of the website provide resources for the Enneagram User Guide book series topics. A block for navigating the topics can be found to the left or top of this page (depending on the type of device being used to access this page).

The Centers

The centers of intelligence, or simply the centers, group the nine types into three groups of three (i.e., 891, 234, and 567). Each type is said to have a preoccupation with one of the centers. 

The labeling and meaning of each center varies between teachers. Here are some common examples.

  • (891) - Gut, Body-Based, Anger, Self-Forgetting
  • (234) - Heart-Based, Shame, Image
  • (567) - Head-Based, Fear

The core focus introduced in the Enneagram User Guide book series ties each type back to the centers in the following way.

  • (891) - Behavioral Assertiveness, Accommodation, Correctness
  • (234) - Emotional Attentiveness, Affirmation, Authenticity
  • (567) - Mental Objectivity, Questioning, Anticipation

It's useful to note that although all three types in a center have a preoccupation with that center, they use the center differently.

More details about the centers can be found in the Enneagram User Guide series book Decoding the Enneagram. This book specifically discusses the centers. The other books only describe them as part of the core focus. Check the home page for the latest information about the availability of the books and related projects.

Related Resources

Discuss the centers of intelligence in the Enneagram Discussion Forums.

Additional Videos